Archives for June 2018

New benches for Tucky Park

The Mayor of the Bay of Colwyn, Cllr Steve Williams, visited ‘Tucky park’ play area on Church Road, Rhos on Sea, earlier this week to officially unveil the two new park benches.

Local resident, Mrs Lorraine Whitaker, had written to Town Councillor, Glenys Baker, around 18 months ago requesting extra benches in the park. There has only been one there for the past 15 years and, whilst this was in good condition, Mrs Whittaker felt more were needed for adults watching children play, or waiting to collect children from school. Councillor Baker approached the Town Council and local members got behind the scheme. Funds were identified from the local Council’s street furniture budget, the benches were ordered earlier this year and were finally installed last week, with the assistance of Conwy County Borough Council’s Open Spaces team.

Following his visit, Cllr Steve Williams commented: “I, as Mayor of Bay of Colwyn, have the proud job of formally announcing that we have now two more benches in Tucky Park, to be enjoyed for many years to come by everyone who uses the park.”

Photograph taken by Tina Earley, Town Clerk, showing the Mayor, Cllr Steve Williams, visiting Tucky Park with (left to right): Phil Vipond, Environment Officer for Open Spaces, Cllr Glenys Baker, Cllr Hannah Fleet and Catherine Smith, Parent Governor at Ysgol Llandrillo yn Rhos.

Sir John Henry Morris Jones Trust Fund 2018

On Monday 4th June, the Mayor of the Bay of Colwyn, Cllr Steve Williams, was delighted to be invited to present grants, on behalf of the Trustees of the Sir John Henry Morris Jones Trust, to eight talented young people from the Colwyn area.

The recipients of awards from the Trust this year are:- Imogen Camp (Chess), Bobi Jones (Athletics), Moli Jones (Athletics), Sara Millband (Wheelchair basketball), Jack Jones (Windsurfing), Sam Saunders (Windsurfing), Bethan Seaman (Musical Theatre), Will Sissons (Cricket)

Chairman of the Trustees, Mr Jim Barry, said:

On behalf of the Trustees, I would like to offer our congratulations to this year’s award recipients, who the Trustees concluded were all highly motivated young people showing outstanding ability and dedication in their chosen fields. I would also like to take this opportunity to encourage anyone who knows of any young people (under 19 years of age) from the Bay of Colwyn area who are able to demonstrate a high level of achievement in the arts, sport or education, to please get in touch with the Town Clerk in Colwyn Bay (tel: 01492 532248) to find out more about how the Trust Fund could help to support them.”

The Mayor, Cllr Steve Williams, added:
I am privileged to have been asked to give out awards to this group of talented young people and to hear of their significant achievements over the past year, together with their goals for the year ahead. It amazes me that our town can produce such a wealth of dedicated and talented young people and I congratulate all of the award recipients and wish them all the best for the future. I would also like to thank their parents, teachers, coaches and mentors for their hard work and support.”

The Trust was set up in 1975 with a bequest under the terms of the will of Sir John Henry Morris Jones, who was a G.P. in the Town for many years and M.P. from 1929 – 1950. Applications are invited annually by the Trustees from young people under the age of 19, who live in the former Borough of Colwyn area.

The attached photograph is of the Mayor, Cllr Steve Williams, Mr Jim Barry, Chair of the Trustees, Cllr Tony Pearson and Mrs Val Smith (Trustees) and this year’s award recipients outside the Town Hall.