Winners of the Bay of Colwyn Volunteer of the Year Awards 2014


The Bay of Colwyn Town Council is delighted to announce the winners of the Bay of Colwyn Volunteer of the Year Awards for 2014. The nominations were considered by the Volunteer Awards Committee, which includes representatives from Conwy Voluntary Services Council, Colwyn Bay Civic Society, Colwyn Bay Chamber of Trade/Business Network and Colwyn Bay Horticultural Society, together with three Members of the Town Council. Award recipients were invited to the Town Hall last Monday evening and the winners of each category were presented with a slate plaque and certificate by the Town Mayor, Cllr Chris Perry and Cllr John Davies, Chairman of the Volunteer Awards Committee.

Winners of the Bay of Colwyn Volunteer Awards 2014 are:

  • Adult (25-64 yrs): Mr Ray Dawson
  • Adult (65+): Mr Geoff Powell
  • Young Person (under 25): Mr Ted Simmons
  • Green Volunteer: Mr Steve Lyall
  • Trustee: Mrs Hazel Cleverley

A Highly Commended certificate was also presented to Young Volunteer Hallam Cleverley, by The Mayor, in recognition of his voluntary work for the Dan’s Den charity. Although there were no nominations this year for the Group category, the Town Council is aware that there are many local groups regularly carrying out invaluable voluntary work in our local community. Hopefully we can encourage more nominations for this category for next year’s awards.