Town Council


The Bay of Colwyn Town Council


The Town Council came into existence in 1996, following a Local Government reorganisation, which disbanded Clwyd County Council and Colwyn Borough Council and created a new Unitary Authority, known as Conwy County Borough Council, and a new Community Council, known as the Bay of Colwyn Town Council, covering the communities of Old Colwyn, Colwyn Bay (including Upper Colwyn Bay and Bryn y Maen) and Rhos-on-Sea.  It is one of approximately 730 Town and Community Councils in Wales, which are the closest tier of local government to the communities that they serve.

The majority of major local services, including Environmental, Highways, Education, Licensing, Planning and Social Services, are delivered by Conwy County Borough Council.  Please visit the County Council’s website at for further information or enquiries.

The Town Council has 24 members, who are elected every 4/5 years, with the last elections having taken place in May 2012.  The area is divided into smaller sections, known as Wards, for electoral purposes.  The six wards making up the Bay of Colwyn area are as follows:

Colwyn Ward      from Penmaenhead in the east, to Beach Road

Eirias Ward         from Beach Road, Old Colwyn to Elian Road, Colwyn Bay

Glyn Ward           from Eirias Park to Woodlands Road East, including the Glyn Estate and parts of Nant y Glyn

Rhiw Ward          from Woodlands Road East to Ebberston Road East, including Upper Colwyn Bay and Bryn y Maen

Dinarth Ward      to the south and west of Brompton Avenue/Llandudno Road

Rhos Ward         to the north and east of Brompton Avenue/ Llandudno Road


Members of the Council are all volunteers and receive no payment, other than reimbursement of expenses when travelling outside of the local area on Town Council business.  Please visit the Councillors page using the link left/above to find contact details for your local Councillors.  For information about becoming a councillor, please contact the Town Council.

The Council currently employs four members of staff: the Town Clerk (full time), the Assistant Clerk/Mayor’s Secretary (part time), the Administrative Assistant (part time) and the Town Hall Cleaner/Caretaker (part time).  For details of the Council’s Pay Policy, please click here.

Town Mayor:

The Council elects a Chairman annually, at its Annual Meeting in May, and the Chairman of the Council holds the Office of Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

The Mayor is invited to numerous local events during the course of the year, to support our many active voluntary bodies.  The Council also elects a Deputy Mayor, to take office when the Mayor is unavailable.

To invite the Mayor to a function/event, please contact Mrs Ros Dudley, the Mayor’s Secretary, on 01492 532248, or by e-mail at

Further information on this years Mayor and Deputy Mayor can be found here.

Council Structure:

Most of the Council’s business is conducted through a Committee Structure, with meetings of the two main Committees – General Purpose & Planning and Policy & Finance, taking place every three weeks and every six weeks, respectively.

Sub-Committees are also appointed for specific areas of work, such as Christmas Lights and Volunteer Awards.

The Full Council meets once every six weeks to consider the decisions and recommendations of the Committees.  A guest speaker is usually present at meetings of the Full Council.