The Bay of Colwyn Town Council is now inviting nominations for its Volunteer of the Year Awards for 2017/18.

Town Clerk, Tina Earley, explains: “This will be the seventh year of our Volunteer Awards, which were introduced to recognise the valued contribution of our many local volunteers and voluntary groups, who show selflessness, devotion and service to the local community and are an inspiration to others. The Town Council is keen to celebrate the efforts of our unsung local heroes and is now encouraging local residents to submit nominations for this year’s awards. A new category has been introduced this year to make allowance for nominations that may not previously have been accepted.”

There are now seven categories for nomination:

– Young Person (under 25 years), or group of young people
– Adult (25-64)
– Adult (65 and over)
– Green Volunteer or group
– Trustee
– Other Groups (two or more individuals, whether informal or formally constituted)
– Special Award (for those that may not meet the criteria for the other six categories).

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 31st January 2018.

Nomination forms and guidelines are available either by post or to collect from the Town Hall, Rhiw Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7TE, by e-mail request to: [email protected] or by downloading here.

The Mayor, Cllr Jeff Pearson, commented:
“As Town Mayor, I have the pleasure of meeting many local volunteers, who generously give their time and show a commitment to improve the area in which we live or the lives of those living in the Bay of Colwyn area. I would like to take this opportunity to not only thank them for the work they do, but also to encourage those that see or benefit from the time and effort these local volunteers put in to give a few minutes of their own time to complete a brief nomination form, so that we can thank them publicly for their valued contribution. As Town Mayor, I encourage you to take a few minutes to nominate that person or group you know who does so much to help others or serve our community – please help us to reward them for their dedication.”