On Wednesday 1st June, the Mayor of the Bay of Colwyn, Cllr John Davies, presented grants on behalf of the Sir John Henry Morris Ones Trust, to nine talented young people from the Colwyn area.

The recipients of awards from the Trust this year are:

  • Sophie Mae Brown (swimming)
  • Imogen Camp (chess)
  • Liv Davies (swimming)
  • Sam Johnson (triathlon)
  • Moli Jones (athletics)
  • Jack Jones (windsurfing)
  • Ellie New (hockey)
  • Harry Pulford (sailing)
  • William Sissons (cricket)


The Trust was set up in 1975 with a bequest under the terms of the will of Sir John Henry Morris Jones, who was a GP in the town for many years and MP from 1929 – 1950.   Applicants are invited annually by the Trustees from young people under the age of 19, who live in the former Borough of Colwyn area.