The Bay of Colwyn Town Council is delighted to announce the winners of the Bay of Colwyn Volunteer of the Year Awards for 2018.  The nominations were considered by the Volunteer Awards Committee, which includes representatives from the local community and from Community and Voluntary Support Conwy (CVSC).  Award recipients were invited to the Town Hall on Monday 16th April, with the winners of each category being presented with a slate plaque and certificate by the Town Mayor, Cllr Jeff Pearson.

Winners of the Bay of Colwyn Volunteer Awards 2018 are:

Adult (25-64 years):        Donna Friston

Adult (65+):                      Joyce Stubbs

Young Person/Group:    Friday Fitness Volunteer and Peer Educator Group

Group:                               Theatr Colwyn Stewards

Special Award:                 Richard Poynton & Monty Slocombe – Old Colwyn Residents’ Association


Highly Commended certificates were also presented to Adult Volunteers Philip Jones and to the volunteers who work at the St David’s Hospice shop in Colwyn Bay.

Town Mayor, Cllr Jeff Pearson, said: “I was privileged to have the opportunity to meet and personally thank these volunteers for their invaluable work in our local community.  We know there are many more hard-working volunteers out there who deserve recognition for their voluntary work – don’t leave it for someone else to do it and get in touch with us at the Town Hall to nominate someone you know for an award next year!”